Is Diet Coke Vegan

+ Font Size -

Is Coca-Cola a Vegan Product? What You Should Know About Soda Ingredients 

Is Coca-Cola a Vegan Product? What You Should Know About Soda Ingredients

Could the world's most famous carbonated beverage be off-limits to vegans? Coca-Cola, of course, holds the title, with its iconic red trucks and unforgettable taste known all over the world. Fanta, Dr Pepper, Lilt, and Powerade are all products of the beverage behemoth. However, some of the company's most well-known sodas contain animal-derived ingredients. But, of course, the most important question is: is Coke vegan-friendly?

What exactly is it about sodas that makes them inedible to vegans?


History of Coca-Cola

This magical brown liquid was created in Atlanta, Georgia in 1886. Dr. John Stith Pemberton, a pharmacist, created the syrup and sold it in a jug on the streets outside Jacob's Pharmacy. The main ingredients were cocaine and caffeine, which gave the product its name.

There have been many variations since then, including Diet Coke, Coca-Cola Zero Sugar, and cherry, vanilla, and even coffee flavors. Now, the company sells 200 brands in more than 100 countries around the world.

There are 800 different drinks available in the United States alone. The company is expected to generate $33 billion in revenue by 2020. However, while many vegans may have assumed that their beloved fizz was free of the grip of the animal agriculture industry, this is unfortunately not the case.


Ingredients in Coke are explained.

Coca-Cola Classic is made up of six ingredients, with about 90% of the drink being carbonated water. Sugar, caramel color, phosphoric acid, caffeine, and a blend of secret natural flavors are also included. On the surface, this suggests that the ingredients are vegan.

"Coca-Cola does not contain any ingredients derived from animal sources and can be included in a vegetarian or vegan diet," the company protests. Despite not being labeled as such, animal-derived ingredients can be found in products.

When making wine, for example, it's common to use ingredients like isinglass or casein as a filter. This is also true in the soda industry, where certain colors and flavors are required, and Coca-Cola is no exception.


Is sugar a vegan food?

Sugar, of course, is a key component in fizzy drinks. Coca-Cola cans, for example, contain 39 grams of the beverage. Most sugars are vegan, according to popular belief. However, many are made with animal bones, which is shocking.

Bone char, as it's known, is used to achieve a white color, but you're unlikely to see it listed on your favorite brand's box. The char is made from the bones of slaughtered cows and is also known as "natural carbon."

Despite the fact that brown sugar does not require such a color, companies that produce it are likely to use bone char as well.

Coca-Cola contains different types of sugar depending on the country. According to the company, it's either high fructose corn syrup or sugar. Coca-Cola claims on its website that it uses aspartame in'some' of its products to reduce sugar and calories.

Aspartame is a common artificial sweetener in the United Kingdom, Ireland, and Australia, at least. It's made up of amino acids, and while it wasn't derived from animals, it was 'extensively' tested on them.

Coke Zero Sugar, Diet Coke, Fanta Zero, and Sprite Zero are all products that contain it. So, in terms of bone char risk, the original Coke is vegan, right?


Gelatin from fish

Coca-non-vegan Cola's products contain'small traces' of fish gelatin, according to the company. Before being soaked in hot water, the product is extracted from the collagen in fish scales.

It's mostly used as a stabilizer in the food industry, but it's also used as a thickener and a gelling agent. While pig gelatin is commonly used, fish gelatin has become more popular as a result of religious concerns, as Jews and Muslims abstain from eating pork.

Gelatin is used by Coca-Cola to make the beta-carotene color in some of its products.

While fish gelatin is used to create the orange color, beta-carotene is a natural component of plants such as carrots. It can also be extracted from algae. However, it is frequently recreated, replicated, and synthesized in the food industry.


Coca-other Cola's beverages

Lilt and Schweppes are two of Coca-most Cola's well-known beverage brands. Both, however, are inedible to vegans and vegetarians due to the presence of fish gelatin.

The following is a complete list of the brand's animal-based products:

  • Scweppes Indian Tonic Water/Orange Squash Honest Lemon and Honey Glaceua Vitaminwater Zero Sunshine and Multi V Costa Coffee Lilt/Lilt Zero Kia-Orange Orange Squash No Added Sugar Latte/Caramel Latte/Americano Ready-to-Drink


Animal testing is prohibited.

Coca-Cola announced in 2007 that it would no longer conduct or fund animal testing. "The Coca-Cola Company does not conduct animal tests and does not directly fund animal tests on beverages," the company stated in a letter to PETA.

It also stated that it would write to partners and research organizations requesting that they use alternative methods.

The company has been accused of engaging in questionable practices in the past, such as force-feeding rats to achieve its 'caramel color.'


Options for vegans

Coca-Cola claims that the majority of its beverages are vegan-friendly. They are as follows:

  • Classic Coca-Cola/Zero Sugar/Energy Diet Coke \sGlaceau Dr Pepper Sprite Smartwater/Vitaminwater
  • Fanta \sOasis \sPowerade
  • Rose’s \sSchweppes \sFuzetea


However, it's unclear whether any of the drinks contain sugar that isn't vegan. So, what's the solution? Some people may be able to avoid bone char by completely avoiding sugar and artificial sweeteners.

Eating vegan isn't about perfection, according to PETA. Also, if you're not sure how sugar is made, you shouldn't'stress too much' about it.
























































































write a comment